17 thoughts on “St Johns Woods Community Center, circa 1944

  1. Not a smile anywhere to be seen. No fun here! Cute bunch of kids though. Oh, and no children of color either, what the heck?

  2. Excellent post- Would like to see more. I lived in St. Johns Woods war time housing property. On Mapleleaf Drive. Went to Oregon Ship Grade school, broke my wrist on the parallel Bars in Pier Park. My sister went to Sitton High school. She was a year older than me. I can’t get to the Portland area that much so I really enjoy this sight

    ________________________________

  3. Looks like some of the older kids in the back are singing, or at least answering in unison. Might explain the blank looks on the others: shyness about being asked to sing in front of a cameraman.

  4. Just looked at this because I wanted to see more about St. John’s Woods. Looked like a war housing project in today’s post (10/29/20) but I wasn’t sure. Remarks here sound like it was built by the shipyard owners and/or the Housing Authority.
    It was interesting to see people have “forgotten” about blackboards being a fixture in most public spaces. Also, my grandmother adopted that hairdo sometime around 1940 and wore it like that until she died in 1972!

  5. Kent Wilson, My family lived there too at 10854 N Mapleleaf Drive when my Dad came back from the war. My sister remembers not wanting to leave the Oregon Ship school when we left in the summer of 1950 to move to Woodlawn where I started kindergarten that fall. In the census record I found that one of my future classmates at Woodlawn also lived on Mapleleaf Drive. The map for St John’s Woods is online also.

Leave a comment