Then as now, traffic seems to be going in all directions as we look south on 12th. E Burnside crosses in the foreground while Sandy angles off to the right.
This view east on SE Hawthorne where it crosses Union Avenue may look familiar; we saw it from a different angle earlier. This view shows a little more of the shops that lined Hawthorne.
The 1883 Neppach House hotel dominated the northwest corner of NW Third and W Burnside in 1928. Upper floors were hotel and other lodging under a number of names over the years with storefronts at street level. It lost 20 feet of its front during the 1930s Burnside widening and the subsequent remodel made it virtually unrecognizable. It survived until the mid 2000s. The three-story brick hotel on the right still stands as part of the Union Gospel Mission.
The area between SW Front and the river is undergoing massive changes in 1974 with the removal of Harbor Drive, construction of Tom McCall Waterfront Park and the eventual development of the Riverplace area in the lower right. A few more highrise buildings will sprout downtown in the coming years.
The theater opened on the corner of SW Broadway and Yamhill as the Empress Theater in 1913, was later renamed the Hippodrome Theater and remodeled to this configuration as the Pantages Theater in 1926. It was finally renamed Orpheum Theater in 1929. Here you see trucks set to haul away demolition debris in 1976 as the block is leveled to make way for the Nordstom building.