N Kiska Street, circa 1944

View of N Kiska Street and N Foss Avenue from roof of the University Homes Administration and Community building, circa 1944. University Homes was a wartime housing complex run by the Housing Authority of Portland. The complex was located south of North Columbia Boulevard with the eastern edge at N Chautauqua Boulevard.

 

City of Portland Archives, Oregon, A2001-025.432

City of Portland Archives, Oregon, A2001-025.432

 

View this image in Efiles by clicking here.

10 thoughts on “N Kiska Street, circa 1944

  1. Kiska and Attu are still street names in North Portland. Named after US islands seiezed by the Japanese in WW 2

  2. Looking at Bob’s air photo, you’ll a see a smoke plume heading to the east. That’s from Pacific Carbide and Alloys, where I drove fork lift during my college summers in the ’70’s.

    In 1945, they were making the acetylene gas for welding at the ship yards.

    Dustiest place I ever saw…

  3. Mike, I don’t know how they compare, but it sounds very similar to my youthful summer job working in a grass seed plant. The dust and airborne chaff could be so great during off-loading of the farmer’s trucks, we had to wear disposable respirators. Our down time was spent sweeping the loading bay floors.

    Since I wore glasses, I’d look like a raccoon by the time I got home.

Leave a comment