12 thoughts on “SE Powell Boulevard, 1972

  1. I remember that block so well. Pieri’s was just the greatest Italian deli. I still mourn the loss.

  2. I submitted a post today, and it never displayed with “Awaiting Moderation” or anything; it just floated away into oblivion.

  3. It’s interesting that this stretch of Powell is now 7 lanes wide(4 going west, 3 going east) , whereas in 1972 it was only 4 lanes wide.

    There’s been some serious widening of this intersection in the last 50 years.

  4. V.P.: I just submitted a post today regarding Liberty Ships , and it never displayed with “Awaiting Moderation” or anything; it just floated away into oblivion.

  5. Yes, me too, twice. this post and yesterdays. Hit enter, seemed normal but never got the “continue reading” prompt or the post “awaiting moderation”. And, I’ve also had repeated difficulty trying to get this website to even load and appear, having to refresh, close tab, retry again and again, often the browser loading bar just getting frozen part way.

  6. I remember Pieri’s as well. I worked at Pieri’s Lacantina down the road on 25th for a couple years in high school. Great guy and great food. None like it.

  7. Dave J. I worked at Mama Maria’s down on 20th and Powell from 1970 1975. We got our grated cheese from Pieri’s and a few other items. I had to go pick up the order after I got off school from the deli on 39th those years. Had the pleasure of getting to know the whole family during that time. And boy do I remember his Grand opening!

  8. Yeah, he was quite a character. Had a nickname for everyone. Mine was MR. Ghandi. Although I had a pretty long hair at the time. But hey, he was the boss.

Leave a comment