13 thoughts on “SE 60th Avenue, 1963

  1. I remember the real peppermint ice cream cones back in 65😋

    my grandmother who at this time was in her 70’s , was a full time

    Caretaker for the old folks at the Adventist Hospital and elsewhere.

  2. The earliest mentions of Seaton’s Pharmacy are in the 1935 Oregonian, where it is listed among other pharmacies. Its address then was 6101 SE Belmont. PastPortland says the pre-renumbering address was 1603 Belmont Street, and that is was Post Office Substation Number 67 and Amhurst Pharmacy in 1932.

    In 1945, the Oregonian reported “Yeggmen broke open a safe in the Season’s pharmacy… and stole an undetermined amount of money, L.L. Season, owner reported to police Wednesday. The store had been ransacked. Federal narcotic agents were investigating to determine if the yeggmen also stole narcotics.” (11/29/1945) (By the way, I’d never heard the term “yegg,” which means “thief.”)

    Unfortunately, other than ads for the pharmacy, most other mentions are about more break-ins. On Mary 9, 1952 burglars took an undermined amount of money from a safe in the post office section of the store and rifled three cash registers yielding about $16. The owner’s name was Layke Seaton.

    In 1976 (January 3) a five-year prison term was imposed on a man for having robbed the store in a holdup. He pleaded guilty and admitted wielding a knife during the robbery, in which $800 was taken.

    The final Oregonian article I found mentioning the pharmacy was an obituary printed on October 14, 2018. Yoshio Inahara (1924-2018), born in Japan, had worked as a pharmacist for 50 years. He was the owner of Seaton’s Pharmacy and served as president of the Oregon State Pharmaceutical Associatio as well as a number of other professional organizations. There’s a nice photo of him with the obituary.

  3. I just checked the Oregonian for “Amhurst Pharmacy” as PastPortland had spelled it, but there wasn’t anything. The spelling seems to have been “Amherst Pharmacy” because I was able to fine 9 mentions of that, on Belmont.

  4. Interesting to see Seaton’s Pharmacy in 1963. My grandma was working at Seaton’s in the soda fountain when this photo was taken.

  5. I miss Seaton’s , my Kindergarten class was at Mt Tabor annex (seen in background) and I went to Glencoe and Tabor and played Belmont little league so this intersection is like home to me.

  6. The 1942 draft registration for Layke L Seaton (1906-1989) shows he was a self employed pharmacist at the 6101 SE Belmont address. Mr Seaton built the building shown in this photo in 1950, and sold the business to Yoshio Inahara in 1972 who kept the Seaton Pharmacy name.

  7. My music teacher lived on 60th so stopping at Seaton’s on my way to or from my music lesson was always delightful. They had the best milk shakes that always had more than the glass could hold. So you also got the metal cup that the milkshake was made in. Seaton’s and drug stores like it were a wonderful tradition that is gone.

  8. My music teacher lived on 60th. I would stop at Seaton’s either on my way to my lesson or on my way home. Their milkshakes were the best. It didn’t fit into the glass so you would also get the metal cup with the rest of the milkshake. This type of drug store is long gone and that to me is very sad.

  9. My Dad told the lunch counter was frequently full of smokers escaping the rigors of the Adventist hospital

  10. My Mom worked at Seaton’s for a short time in about 1961 or early 1962. I don’t remember what her job was.

Leave a comment