16 thoughts on “Portland Trolley Map

  1. Cool map. We have a black and white version on the back of a street map of vanport. I’m guessing it was given to new residents to let them get around in vanport as well as the city.

  2. Doesn’t it seem a bit ironic that so many streetcar and electric trolley lines were taken out, only to be replaced with diesel powered busses running on almost exactly the same routes? And now we’re tearing up streets to build new streetcar lines.

  3. This transportation model would benefit me greatly and I wish it was still in use. I agree with EJ except there is no diesel powered bus OR trolley running down streets like Prescott and Knott like there apparently was in the 40’s. Guess I need a car now. C’mon Portland this seems backwards!

  4. A few weeks ago I noticed for the first time old streetcar tracks at SE Morrison and 26th. This was just before the streetcar line went onto a private right of way (since re-developed) to connect between Morrison and Belmont.

    Also on I-5 just north of the Terwilliger Curves there is an old, recently uncovered, retaining wall stamped with I think it said 1913. This has to be from when the Oregon Electric Interurban ran on the now I-5 route.

  5. Pingback: Portland Trolley Map from 1943 « TRAIL & RAIL | Corridor Communities

  6. Pingback: Historical Passenger Rail of Portland, Oregon | Cameron Booth

  7. Points of interest, huh? I wonder what #8 was. A Castle? It looks like it was close to the Hill Military Academy… but there is no mention of it. Matching this up with a current google maps overhead would indicate that this area is almost exactly where 84 and 205 meet. Are they referring to Rocky Butte park? Was there a castle at the top of Rocky Butte? There are some old stone walls there but they looked municipal to me. Maybe the whole little drawing is supposed to represent the military academy, but why would that be a point of interest? Maybe just a navigation point for travelers perhaps?

  8. Hi Joe, I think this is referring to the walls and viewpoint at the top of Rocky Butte, it looks like a castle to many. It was built during the Depression, by the Work Project Authority (WPA) I think.

  9. Sorry, Works Progress Administration. I copied that in from another site, and did not notice the error.

  10. Sadly the demise of the Portland Trolleys was engineered by a couple of auto manufacturers and a tire Company. They set up a shell Business to buy Public transportation systems and phase them out. Very sad really. Portland had a great Gladstone, then up into Oregon City. Today it would cost hundreds of millions if not more to replace but just a few of the lines we once had .

  11. Wow that dident come out right. Should be. (Had a great transportation system for its population size. One of the routs went from downtown Portland, up 99E. Cut over on Abernathy in Gladstone. Went down Portland Ave and took a right. Then straight out over the Clackamas and up into Oregon City..

  12. These following expedition pictures ideas are usually not my own and must be
    credited to Michael and CT. However, I will present
    my interpretation and examples of my very own pictures taken on the expedition.

  13. Pingback: Transit Maps:

Leave a comment