Neppach House, 1928

The 1883 Neppach House hotel dominated the northwest corner of NW Third and W Burnside in 1928. Upper floors were hotel and other lodging under a number of names over the years with storefronts at street level. It lost 20 feet of its front during the 1930s Burnside widening and the subsequent remodel made it virtually unrecognizable. It survived until the mid 2000s. The three-story brick hotel on the right still stands as part of the Union Gospel Mission.

(City of Portland Archives)