The component parts for the main span of the Fremont Bridge were built in California but the final assembly was done on Swan Island, as shown here. It would be lifted into place on March 16, 1973, connecting the east and west banks of the Willamette River. At the time it was the heaviest lift, at 6000 tons, ever completed, and it is the second longest tied arch bridge in the world. Here’s a photo of the east and west ramps under construction, before the center span lift.
Several months ago we looked at the intersection of N. Williams and Russell looking north in 1937. This is the same intersection, same year (probably same day), looking south.
The iconic Pagoda Chinese restaurant and lounge opened on the northwest corner of NE 39th and Broadway in 1940. It closed on the last day of 2008 and has been remodeled into a Key Bank. The Pagoda was one of Portland’s first Chinese restaurants outside of downtown. Later patrons were unimpressed with the food but had high praise for the lounge. The Rankin Building would become Poor Richard’s restaurant in 1959. NE Sandy passes on a diagonal just beyond the barricades.