10 thoughts on “Vancouver Car 192, circa 1915

  1. I love seeing pre-War, pre-1920 images because they are relatively rare and they remind me of the lives of my grandparents and the rapid technological changes
    they experienced. In 1915, Portlanders depended heavily on public transportation
    for their mobility.

  2. Any idea where this was taken? As far as I can tell it’s north of Stafford and either 1.26 or 7.26 miles from Portland. It’s also interesting how many of the streetcar photos we have seen were shot on snowy days.

  3. Most likely Hayden Island, judging from the partially visible station sign. Remnants of the streetcar line’s trestle still can be seen out there.

  4. Steven: I think this stop was located just south side of the Interstate bridge. Here the trolley tracks continued south and also peeled off to a long trestle that crossed the Columbia Slough to Faloma and headed south down Union Ave.

  5. I enjoy these pre-1920 photos, also. My grandma and great-aunt lived with their family on the corner of NE Rodney & Monroe St. They took the trolley to their jobs at Union Station.

  6. When I was a little girl my grandmother would take me to visit her parents who lived in Vancouver. It is a faint, almost dreamlike, memory of being on a streetcar on a high, narrow, trestle. I sat very still and away from the side of the car, afraid of it tipping over so high above water. Don’t know where we boarded the car in Portland or if there was a station in Vancouver. I am 84 and it was a long time ago but this memory is one of my earliest. Glad to know I didn’t imagine it.

  7. I agree also that this may be the Hayden Island station. The sign above their heads announces what could have said ‘Hayden Island Station’. The small lettering to the left says “to Portland 7.26 miles”. That’s an exact distance from Hayden Island to the center of downtown.

  8. What a surprise to look at the vintage picture today and see my grandfather. Claude Roach, 1988-1956. Ran street cars, & then drove buses with Rose City Transit for many years. Until he retired at 65.
    He had many friends on his bus lines. Regular riders would bring him cookies & gifts etc.

  9. Stafford is one block south of Lombard. North of Lombard streets are named after apples (Baldwin and Russet for example).

Leave a Reply

