11 thoughts on “Albina Rail Yards, circa 1958

  1. Wow, that brick UP smokestack is just about all that remains in that rail yard today. I wonder how much longer it will last….it is kinda an iconic landmark.

  2. This brings back some memories because I was at the UP yards about a year before this picture was taken. I’ve been a railfan since I was a little kid and when I was about 13 I wrote to the UP in Omaha and asked if I could take a tour of the yards. A week or two later the phone rang and my mom said it was for me. A somewhat perplexed-sounding young man said that he’d been told to give me a tour and when could I get there? It took a couple of bus transfers but I got there pretty quickly. He showed me a lot and I even got to get on a locomotive. A great day for a kid.

  3. I believe this picture is probably a 1 or 2 of years earlier than ’58. (probably ’56 or ’57). They started taking down the roundhouse in ’56, I believe, and it was gone by ’58. My father worked there as a steam locomotive engineer on the U.P. I remember him taking us kids to the roundhouse late at night and letting us climb around and explore the steaming engines! What a thrill it was for me as a 9 year old boy! He hated to see it all go. He had run steam all his career and now they were gone! They scrapped hundreds of locomotives there and if you look close, you can see where they scrapped them. It’s by the crane (just below the roundhouse). I looked closely at the picture and re-magnified it and I didn’t see ANY steam locos left. I think they were all gone by this time……….Sad.

  4. (Just another little addition to my earlier post after reading the above from Rumblefish351). The U.P. smokestack was preserved on behalf of my father’s repeated and diligent efforts and actions. He was constantly in contact with several organizations including the U.P. at Omaha, The National Railway Historical Society, and National, State and City Historical Societies, and any one else he thought would listen and help him. So all I can add is: “THANKS DAD!!!”

  5. One of the buildings in the photo center housed the UP Old Timers Club & Ladies Aux. In the 50’s they hosted our monthly 100+ member accordian band practice. Yes, those were very different times.

  6. Thanks Pat. Love that smoke stack. I was sick when I found out the other stack I liked (the incinerator in North Port.) had been taken down.

  7. Great backstory on the smokestack. Anyone interested in more recent history of the Albina Yards should check out my blog. Sadly like so many middle class jobs, little remains of the Albina Yards beyond miles of classification yard track.

  8. Bob Slusher, I believe you were involved when The UP Oldtimers Club building was also the meeting place for the Pacific NW Chapter of the National Railroad Historical Society.

Leave a Reply

