11 thoughts on “Multnomah Kennel Club, 1960

  1. Thank God “Greyhound Racing” is a thing of the past. I have read so many
    articles about what happens to these poor dogs AFTER they are no longer
    fit of the “sport!” We know so much more now about animals and HOW they
    should be treated!

  2. Was greyhound racing really THIS popular? I moved from Portland in ’54. Used to go
    to grayhound races in ’47. The crowds were modest then.

  3. I remember going there in the 70’s. It was a very pleasant experience. One could bet a few bucks, have a hot dog and beer and spend less than going to a movie. It was great on a summer evening.

  4. My father worked at the Greyhound Park from 1956 until his retirement in the early 2000’s. He worked his way up from selling tickets to the Director of Racing. Not all of the dogs had a horrible life.

  5. I remember going to the races with my dad in the late 70’s. Used to watch PL Greer win every time. We would place a $2 bet on him to win, and would win $2.10!

  6. I went there a couple of times in the mid-70’s. I bet for the first time ever & don’t think I won anything. Greyhounds are beautiful dogs. A lot of people in SF have miniature greyhounds as pets.

Leave a Reply

