7 thoughts on “Vanport Hospital, 1944

  1. Interesting pic but I hoped for a Mt. St. Helen’s recap. I remember I-5 North as a parking lot as we all strained for a Polaroid with our buffy hair.

  2. Every thing was so stark back then. The doctors office would have linoleum floors and those glass “bricks” for windows that let in light but that you couldn’t see through. I don’t remember any carpet. We went to a clinic on about 50th and Hawthorne. My Dr’s last name was Miracle.

  3. I wonder if we might detect here an early reflection of Henry Kaiser’s commitment to health care. He was more than willing to spend money, both his and the government’s to achieve a healthy workforce. Certainly some money has been spent on this facility. It takes more than steel to build ships is my point.
    Just saying.

  4. @ Dave Johnson. I was delivered by a Dr. Miracle at the old Portland Adventist Hospital on 60th and Belmont in ’64. I can’t help but think it was the same doc.

  5. I thought this was the vault at US National Bank!🙂 Also….everything is so pristine except her shoes! Kinda scuffed wouldn’t you say?

  6. Reminds me of when I was in college & worked at Holladay Park Hospital in 1968. My job was too clean up after surgeries. There was an electric current in the floors of the operating rooms. I think it had something to do with static electricity. We had to wear rubber slippers over our shoes to keep from being electrocuted.

Leave a Reply

