NE 116th Avenue, 1950

Oregon is home to many archives, most rich with collections documenting Oregon’s history. In order to highlight some of these collections containing Portland-area images, Vintage Portland has invited photo submissions from other archives within the region. Today’s photo and text is provided by the Multnomah County Archives.

This photograph is at NE 116th Avenue and NE Shaver Street from January 1950. This was the third snowiest month in Portland on record with nearly 33 inches of snow.

 

NE 116th Avenue and NE Shaver Street, 1950: Multnomah County Archives

NE 116th Avenue and NE Shaver Street, 1950: Multnomah County Archives

 

Access the Multnomah County Archives by clicking here.

19 thoughts on “NE 116th Avenue, 1950

  1. It seems to me that the operator of the shovel is waving at the people standing on top of all that snow. I didn’t live here then. Do any of you remember details about this snow? Thanks!

  2. I was only about 4 months old when this photo was taken. But I do remember playing in some pretty deep snowfalls in the 50s.

  3. I Lived in Parkrose on 104th & Fremont.I was 16 at that time. I remember this like it was yesterday. Have forwarded this to all my classmates at Parkrose High as a memory. We sure did have a lot more freezing ice in those days …far more than today. This was our first year attending the “NEW” Parkrose High School. Our original school was on 106th -107th & Prescott.
    This picture was on 116th below Fremont Court, probably near Shaver as
    Fremont stopped at 112th . We WALKED TO SCHOOL through this. They hardly ever cancelled school like they do today.

  4. I wasn’t yet present for this, but looking at the records, 1949-1950 set many for snow fall and resulting flooding. (i.e. Vanport). I remember a lot of snow and sleet storms in east county through the 1960-65 era. The neighboring Reynolds school district adjoining the Columbia Gorge out Trourdale way closed often, so we spent a fair time outside slipping around the driveway.

  5. I remember that winter as the year of the ice crusted snow drifts. Before the melt everything wound up with a solid inch of ice on top of the snow drifts. Rock hard and when you broke thru it would hurt. I remember I had to walk my paper route every day for weeks on end. No hope of the bike. And you know what. I’d give everything to go back and do it again, at that age of course.
    I think that shovel operator is waving at the dump truck driver signaling that’s far enough. The east side suffered some prodigious snow drifts as we can see here.

  6. Dad built the Nordic Motel in 1950 so were then. We moved to OR. in 1947 so probably weren’t overwhelmed. Ruth B.

  7. I was a year away from being born but I also remember lot more snow then. 67-68 was a snowy one too, I remember the piles of snow in parking lots lasting into late March.

  8. K
    My guess is the snow blew away, I lived out that way as a kid and some winters during storms the wind would seem to never stop blowing.

Leave a Reply

