24 thoughts on “Help us out!

  1. Random thoughts: Busy thoroughfare, I’m thinking north/south now that the Couch St sign has been mentioned, and probably inner SE. Warning beacon in the street would indicate busy street ahead. Lights on awning indicate this wouldn’t be a neighborhood corner ice cream shop, but to attract traffic at night? Street in foreground was paved recently, maybe a new street even since the curb looks relatively new. This would be from the ’30s or thereabouts.

  2. Ding ding! I think Rumblefish and the great rock and roll promoter Alex Cooley both have it. Notice the “C” above the door as well. Of course, I meant inner *N*E in my comment above.πŸ˜‰

  3. This is the Tip Top Cleaners building at 20th & Burnside ST. I am the owner of Tip Top and before iot became a dry cleaners at the time of this picture it was a cafe tun by a doctor and his wife .

  4. I was pleased to see somebody mention Skavones on 41st and SE Division. I thought of that also when I first saw the picture. I remember very well when I was a bout 12 years old in 1958. We lived on SE 41st and Carruthers. I would walk to Skavones, sit at the counter and order a black and white sundae. As I recall, it was about 35 cents. I even found a picture on the internet from around that time. Showed the counter, and interior.

    Thanks for bringing back a lot of great memories.

Leave a Reply

