NW Glisan & Park, 1921

This classic view of the North Park Blocks is from 1921. Trolley tracks ride up the center of the Belgian block-paved NW Glisan Street with Park Avenue branching off to the right.

A2009-009.1847 NW Park & Glisan 1921(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “NW Glisan & Park, 1921”

  1. Ian Says:

    It’s nice to see the Harlow Block when it was in it’s prime. The years have not treated the building kindly:

    Harlow Block c.1882

  2. Irene LONGAKER Says:

    I am really enjoying this site and would appreciate some help with a couple of houses that my grandfather lived in before the 20’s. The attached photo is his house that may have been demolished in the late 30’s or early ’40’s. It was located at the nw corner of Park Place and Vista Ave. I have come across some wonderful photos taken at the house before the ’20’s. It appears in the book of Portland Houses as the Doyle House. Where can I find more information. I would love to find out when it was torn down. I have an address of their other house close by and photos taken on the porch. How would I locate that house. I am sure it was also torn down. I have not been to the Oregon HS. I live in Salem. Thanks for any info you can give me. My grandfather and his father were Graham Glass. They had a business in downtown Portland. I included that also. It is probably from the ’20s and was a three to four story building for office supplies. The first and last attachments are the house on Vista. Date: Tue, 3 Dec 2013 15:05:57 +0000 To: irelon@msn.com

  3. Doug K Says:

    I bet this picture, which is focused on the roadway, was taken by the city to show that the streetcar company wasn’t adequately maintaining the Belgian Block between the rails, as their franchise requires. Look how wavy the blocks are between the rails!

  4. mark Says:

    I would really like to see that building going to good use someday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,193 other followers

