SW 10th Avenue & Yamhill, 1921

SW 10th Avenue was a two-way street in 1921. Here it passes in front of the 1913 Central Library on the right, looking south from Yamhill Street.

A2009-009.1835 SW 10th at Yamhill 1921(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , , ,

21 Responses to “SW 10th Avenue & Yamhill, 1921”

  1. Mike D. Says:

    In the present world: http://goo.gl/maps/HWOHq

  2. wretchedshekels Says:

    great old photo!

  3. Karen Says:

    Love that right hand car !
    Was a common thing seeing during those days.

  4. Greg Says:

    This photo struck me because it is the first one I can remember on this site with someone actually driving a car with the top down. The majority of the cars when this picture was taken were convertibles but you don’t see them with the top down in Port;land. Even though it is only a two lane street, today they would have four lanes in the same space.

  5. Mike G Says:

    I think It was quite a job to activate a convertible in those days and once in place they probably had to stay that way even though most didn’t have windows anyway. Looks like same elm trees today – great shot!

  6. Brian Says:

    30 years later… “Buses man, they’re the future! Tear up those tracks!” 30 more years later… “Light rail man, it’s the future! Let’s put in some tracks!”

    *sigh*

  7. Nathan Says:

    @Brian: If I could like your post more than once, I would.

  8. nativePDX Says:

    Buses replaced rail lines because they can drive around a problem and the rout can be moved when customer preferences change.

    Unfortunately we don’t always learn from history.

  9. Reza Says:

    nativePDX, this is a blog about Portland history but you seem hell-bent on injecting your political opinion in any way you can.

    Keep your anti-light rail screeds on OregonLive or bojack.

  10. Brian Says:

    @Reza unless I’m missing some history his post seemed factually stated. I’ve never been bothered by other posts of his I’ve seen. In fact my post seems just as “political”.

  11. nativePDX Says:

    Reza thank you for your opinion. The facts on history can go in many directions and some people for some reason, find it threatening to their opinion.

  12. Nathan Says:

    @nativePDX: you are partially correct, but seeing as how the Central MC library has not moved in 100 years, I am personally ok with investing in some long-term transit infrastructure in that location

  13. Kevin Says:

    Yeah, I agree with Brian there, that was a pretty benign post as far as rants go. I’ve seen much more politicized, way more off-topic posts from all sides of those arguments in the year or so I’ve been visiting this site. In fact Reza, I know you and I had one of those several months ago and I’ve seen you interject anti-freeway posts into conversations several times in the past.

    But anyway, love the picture. I had no idea there used to be righthand cars like that in the States, at any time. Makes me wonder why we went with left as a standard instead of right actually.

  14. David Johnson Says:

    When I’m fishing from the bank I don’t like boats. When I’m fishing from a boat I don’t like the people on the bank.When I’m in my car I don’t like bikes. When I’m on my bike I don’t like cars.

  15. Tom Jones Says:

    David,
    I have a solution for you. Buy your fish at Whole Foods and if you have to go somewhere you’ll have to walk there!

  16. Dan Faulkner Says:

    The right-hand drive car might be a Pierce-Arrow touring car from the late teens. They didn’t switch to left-hand drive until around 1920, long after most other manufacturers. The position of the headlamps would be consistent with Pierce’s distinctive fender/headlamp style. The radiator shape looks right, too. It’s hard to tell with the straight-on photo, though.

  17. KLR Says:

    30 minute parking, heh. Out here in Newberg they’re repaving one of the streets next to our library, reducing by half the parking in front; I noticed a somewhat amusing sign in the public parking lot we’re having to use at the moment: “12 Hour Parking.” ;) I mean, that basically means park any time, right?

    Were US auto manufacturers really cranking out cars back then with the controls on the right side? That doesn’t make sense to me since we’ve been driving on the right side since the beginning of the 19th century, from what I gather. It is apparently currently legal to own a right-side-drive vehicle in the US, which would mean it wouldn’t be a problem back in the 20s either, from a legal standpoint; but having the controls on the curb side of the road like that isn’t as optimal as having them closer to the center. My guess is that car is a UK import, or a mail carrier – although it seems a bit snazzy for that, and I doubt motorized local delivery of mail was done much before the 80s, or 90s? It seems like a recent phenomenon to me, anyway.

  18. Jim Says:

    Dan Faulkner, your pro-Pierce-Arrow bias is showing. Elitist!(;-)

  19. Dan Faulkner Says:

    KLR: Yes, US manufacturers really did make and sell lots of RHD cars. From Wikipedia: “Early American motor vehicles, however, were right-hand drive, following the practice established by horse-drawn buggies. This changed in the early years of the 20th century: Ford changed to LHD production in 1908 with the Model T and Cadillac in 1916.”

    Jim: What can I say? I own a Pierce-Arrow (handed down from my grandfather) so I’ve got an excuse to be biased. You don’t see them often in old photos, and I get a little overly-excited. :-)

  20. steven bartlett Says:

    I wonder if this is the library we went to as family in DT Portlan
    when I was little (69 now) We watched documentaries and my
    father told me many years later ” those were the only movies
    we could afford to attend! I remember stopping by in the daytime
    somewhere downtown to watch newsreels also, mostly about
    the war.

  21. Tim M Says:

    The “street car” tracks are actually those of the Oregon Electric Railway, an electric interurban line that ran from Portland to Eugene (51 trains a day in 1913). The tracks in this photo turn east (left) out of view on Salmon Street, then south again on Front Avenue, to stations south including Garden Home (a junction there to Beaverton, Hillsboro and Forrest Grove), Tualatin, Salem, Albany, Corvallis, Junction City and Eugene. The OERy featured parlor car service and overnite sleeping cars on it’s “Owl” runs until 1924, when competition from automobiles and buses forced cut backs. Passenger service was discontinued in 1933.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,453 other followers

