Albers Bros Milling Co, c1915

Albers Bros. Milling Co. and the Albers Docks were quite a complex along the western Willamette riverfront a century ago. The tall central structure with the grain silos is all that remains today. Although dated circa 1915, this illustration would have predated the 1913 Broadway Bridge which now skirts those silos as it crosses the river. The far north end of Union Station is at left and a very smoky industrial Northwest Portland stretches out beyond.

(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Albers Bros Milling Co, c1915”

  1. Lynette Says:

    To see this vintage image is exciting to me, especially since I spent a couple of hours at the far north end of present day Union Station on Saturday morning witnessing the departure of the SP 4449 steam locomotive along with a good number of vintage rail cars. I could see the tall central structure with the grain solos when I looked toward the Willamette. Never would I have dreamed that at one time such a complex surrounded those structures. Thanks!

  2. knickatknite Says:

    Wow! I’ve rode my bike past these grain silos on the Broadway Bridge many times and never once would have though such an elaborate structure was once there!

  3. bailey Says:

    I lived @ McCormick Pier for many years on the spot that the building once stood!

  4. howardsgirlfriend Says:

    I can still remember the aroma of the grain–it smelled just like dog biscuits. I loved it when my parents drove over the bridge.

  5. rod taylor Says:

    It would be very hard to overstate the importance of this mill in particular and the other large mills in the area as well, to the economy here. I’d bet for every job in the mill itself there were created at least ten more directly related in the surrounding community. Having had occasion to be inside the place a number of times I always found it fascinating and slightly mysterious with it’s whirring machinery and belts and seeming desertion.

    In addition to the grains the mill took in cotton seed meal, meat meal, sun dried alfalfa pellets, bone meal and molasses from all over the west that I had personal knowledge of and who knows what else and combined them into animal feeds in addition to the many products that found their way to the grocery store.

    The stern-wheeler at the dock is a nice touch and would not be uncommon until fairly late.

    Nice.

  6. Isaac Rabinovitch Says:

    As I understand it, Portland is still a leading port for grain exports. It’s a pity we no longer do the other stuff.

  7. Jackie Harrell Says:

    I inherited a lot of family memorabilia and as I have been sorting through all of it I found 3 feed sacks from Albers Bros’ Milling Co.
    One had “Fancy Flake” on it; the other two say “100% Pure”. The one with Fancy Flake written on it says “Bemis Bro Bag Co. Seattle, Wash” at the bottom.

    Would these be “treasures” to anyone?

  8. Kris G Says:

    Jackie, I would love the feed sacks if you still have them.. please contaqt me at krisalbers@yahoo.com
    Thanks,

  9. Jackie Harrell Says:

    I mean “Kris”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,389 other followers

