N Vancouver & Fremont, 1937

Richfield and Gilmore service stations once adroned two of the corners at N. Vancouver Ave. and Fremont Street. I wonder if Webb’s “The Tavern” was actually in the Richfield station.

(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “N Vancouver & Fremont, 1937”

  1. Mike Slama Says:

    I drive through here once a week or so, and it’s pretty much empty lots now. However, I thought I’d look on Google earth to compare this intersection now..And lo and behold, it looks like the little garage behind the Richfield station is still there! I think the Tavern sign is actually on the corner with the Gilmore station. I would guess that the tavern was located behind or beside the Gilmore station. Great concept (not) “Hey, fill it up with Regular, and get me a cold one to go while you are at it!”

  2. John E. Rescoe Says:

    This is a nice photo. There’s so much information in the photos that you really are taken back to that period in history. My earliest childhood memories that are accurate go back only to the very end of WW-II, V-J Day to be specific. I do distinctly recall a “gas war” going on in ’46 and me & my dad filling up the tank at 14.9 cents a gal. That was in Elizabeth, NJ. Thanks much for the history.

  3. Dave Brunker (@dbrunker) Says:

    There’s obviously buildings standing from that period but, talk about vanishing Portland, nothing in the above picture remains. Wasn’t there a uh… what was if… Wonder Bread bakery where the Gimore was?

    http://g.co/maps/ckejc

    @Mike: If you click the street view link above can you see the garage? I couldn’t find it.

  4. Brian Says:

    Dave I think you’re looking the wrong way. The view in the photo is looking south on Vancouver. Here is the street view from a similar spot looking south.

    I believe the building in the distance with sloping roofline, the “Ice” sign on the wall and the awning over the door is still there as well in the street view. Today though it seems to have a boxy garage-like addition on the near (North) side which I think blocks the wall where the “Ice” sign was in the photo.

  5. JimR on Haight Says:

    Looking south, the Gilmore Station has become masonry 2 story apartments. Hard to the left, and not in the picture, was a tire center and beyond, also not in the picture, was the Hostess Bakery. Neat to see the 2 way traffic that has long been gone. I don’t see any bikes either.

  6. Mike Slama Says:

    The garage that is behind the Richfield station likely was added on to in later years. That’s my guess anyway. In the Google Earth view, if you look closely you can see where it was added on. The side windows are in the approx. location as the old ones, but different size, probably replaced. I’ve always been a little curious what goes on in that little garage. I think there’s some sort of small business in it. BTW, you wouldn’t believe what the Gilmore Red Lion sign would be worth today if you had one. They were usually made of wood, so few survived. If I had kids, I might trade one for it, but all I have is an over fed orange tabby. I don’t think he’d make good trading stock.

  7. Roxanne Says:

    Mike, that depends on whether the sign owner likes cats or kids…..Talk about what you can remember. Do you remember in school when they just started teach plate techtonics? Nowadays we talk about it like it has always been around but it was a new concept just in my time. Sometimes these post make me feel REALLY old.

  8. Roxanne Says:

    PS, like the sign pointing to Pendleton, like it was just down the road a bit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,232 other followers

