SE 12th at Burnside & Sandy, 1963

Then as now, traffic seems to be going in all directions as we look south on 12th. E Burnside crosses in the foreground while Sandy angles off to the right.

(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “SE 12th at Burnside & Sandy, 1963”

  1. Mike Slama Says:

    I would have pitied the poor out of town driver that stumbled onto this intersection back then. I have to admit, while I was skeptical at first, I am getting used to, and somewhat liking the new configuration of this intersection.

  2. Elliott Says:

    You definitely don’t have to wait as long for a green light on some legs of the new intersection. Plus you can make some turns you couldn’t before – left from NB Sandy to NB 12th for instance.

  3. Dave Brunker (@dbrunker) Says:

    Pictures like this remind me of my child hood when my mother came back to Portland, where she grew up, and brought my sister and I with her. Although, this picture was probably taken before I was born. http://g.co/maps/jc46

  4. michael Says:

    Well, let me be the first to ask the question,
    what is that odd wrapped object in the foreground?

    I remember riding the electric buses in Portland,
    and the crackling sparks that flew off the connection.

  5. Jim Says:

    Michael,

    My guesses are…an early dash-cam? A lost Parade Major’s baton? E.T.? The epoxy-affixed hula dancer dashboard bobble that the driver’s wife made him cover up?

    Anybody else have any guesses?

  6. Roxanne Says:

    This has never been a great intersection, and I went thru’ it for the first time the other day to make that eb to nb turn and had trouble figuring out where I was supposed to go and what light I was supposed to obey, so it really hasn’t improved much…..
    I assume the object is attached to whatever the photographer was in (I think it looks like the handle of a little red wagon), but other than that, I have no intelligent guesses. Was there any kind of pedestrian island there then?

  7. NativePDX Says:

    If you look at this older post, just down the street.

    http://vintageportland.wordpress.com/category/streets/sandy-blvd-streets/

    I think the problem was caused as the traffic increased beyond the capasity of the roads.

  8. Kenn Says:

    Nice Pontiac, cars are now more dependable and longer lasting but definitely do not have as much character.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,716 other followers

