NW 23rd & Marshall, 1910

Good Samaritan Hospital has been a fixture at NW 23rd & Marshall for over a century. Although these buildings have long since been replaced, brick is still the exterior material of choice. And the streetcar once again rolls up 23rd.

(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “NW 23rd & Marshall, 1910”

  1. Mike Says:

    Thanks for posting. This is actually 23rd and Marshall. Then (ca 1910) Marshall went all the way thru. I happen to be an employee ;)

  2. Dan Davis Says:

    Mike, you are right of course. I even had the Sanborn map to help me but I had a brain disconnect somewhere. I’ve changed the post title and description accordingly. Thanks for the sharp eye!

  3. Terry Cox Says:

    This might have been the maternity hospital when I was a Med Tech student at Good Sam in 1966. There was a tunnel that went from the main hospital to this building. Kind of creepy at night but at least we didn’t have to go out into the rain.

  4. Brian Caughey Says:

    My daughter was born at Good Sam in 1963. I recall the maternity operation was semi-separate from the rest of Good Sam and was known as Harvey Wilcox Maternity Hospital or something like that.

  5. Steven A Bartlett Says:

    I recall being told by my mother that I (1944)
    and both my sisters were born in Wilcox Memorial Hospital .. We lived in N.E. Portland..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,730 other followers

