5th & Yamhill Food Market, 1975

Continuing down SW 5th from our previous two posts, we cross SW Yamhill street to see the 5th & Yamhill Food Market as it looked in 1975. As with the Corbett and Goodnough buildings, this was replaced by the Pioneer Place complex. I doubt anybody misses this sad little corner.

(City of Portland Archives)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “5th & Yamhill Food Market, 1975”

  1. Jim Says:

    Thanks for this post Dan. If I remember correctly, when I moved to Portland in 1986, I don’t think the market was still doing business. I think the building may have been abandoned by that point. From this picture, the market appears vaguely similar to Seattle’s Pike Place (open air, fresh produce, etc.).

    Is that a *gasp* pigeon-hole parking structure behind the market? I don’t remember that at all! Then again, it was the 80s. There’s a lot I don’t remember.

  2. Dave Says:

    But Pacific Seafood is still around up on SE Powell.

  3. JayinPortland Says:

    Nice to see the Pacific Seafood truck, I live just a few blocks from their place on Powell today.

    We could really use a public market today. I know at least one group has been working on it for about ten years now –

    http://www.portlandpublicmarket.com/

  4. Jim Says:

    I think it would be great to have a public market on the ground floor of the New Market building and put it back to its original use. The last time I walked by, it looked like it had been turned into a cube farm. I hope the marble countered stalls remain. The proximity to Saturday Market would provide “old school” one stop shopping.

  5. JayinPortland Says:

    So many good options out there, and it just isn’t coming together for some reason. A few buildings over by the New Market block, along with the old Federal Building on Broadway across from Union Station, the Morrison Bridgehead site (which I think is still a possibility), Union Station itself…

    I could imagine something in the middle ground between Pike Place and the SF Ferry Plaza market, with some unique Portlandia (indoor food cart court!) of course. All our great chefs, farmers, cheesemakers (blessed are they, heh), winemakers, brewers, ranchers and butchers and charcutiers. We need a home!
    :)

  6. Doug Bloem Says:

    I believe that Dave’s Deli was located there for a number of years, before Abe & Shirley moved it to the newly-built Justice Center in the mid-’80s. I was an east coast transplant at the time, and I really appreciated finding a real Kosher deli.

  7. JayinPortland Says:

    You are correct, Doug!

    http://www.allbusiness.com/government/government-bodies-offices-regional/10373856-1.html

    You can see Dave’s in its previous location (SW 3rd & Morrison) here –

    http://vintageportland.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/mcbreen-building-1970/

  8. mark Says:

    This location is possibly historical for being the first Fred Meyer store. It was on one corner of 5th and Yamhill in 1922.

  9. mark Says:

    If you look at the pictures of the fist Fred Meyer store on the companies web site. You will see the same 3 windows on the Yamhill side of the corner.

  10. Jack Bogdanski Says:

    That isn’t Dave’s Deli. Dave’s was in a building on the northeast corner of 5th and Yamhill. The pictured produce market (which wasn’t “sad” at all) was on the southeast corner.

  11. Alec Says:

    James Beard’s mother brought him to this market when he was a child to shop for her boarding house

  12. Bonwell Says:

    It’s interesting that I stumble upon this page because I was looking for information on the alleged return of the Portland Food Market! I guess more people missed it than we thought.

  13. What I Love, Hate, Like, Dislike about Portland Oregon - Page 58 - City-Data Forum Says:

    […] Ah, you mean Pioneer Place. The mall. Well, I went to my "expert" … my mother (who's 80) and grew up in Portland. She seems to remember there being one somewhere around 4th or 5th, and near the old Bus Station. And on, like, bottom floor of an office building … like Yamhill Marketplace tried to be. the But she doesn't think it lasted until the 70s, and doesn't remember what it was called. So, it's possible that vestiges of it did last that long. Okay … she came up with something. Originally, she came up with one in the bottom of the Goodnough Building (which was demolished in 1988). But this one's pretty small, just a quarter block, but it qualifies. Here it is! […]

  14. Terri Says:

    This was my family’s market my grandfather his brother and sisters owned this and many generations got to work there including me. It was sad when ur had to close. I also worked at the distribution center in Clackamas for pacific seafood which now one of my uncles works for. It was awesome to find this picture. Figini Bros. Closed a year later in 1976. The first Fred Meyers was more on yamhill towards 6th

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,188 other followers

